In This Section

Doctoring Colleges

Doctoring is a 2-year sequence of learning activities that introduce and refine the critical skills necessary for patient assessment and the concepts necessary to practice medicine in contemporary society.

At the Lewis Katz School of Medicine (LKSOM), students are grouped in seven Doctoring Colleges, each of which is named for a distinguished alum of LKSOM. Each Doctoring College is an academic community within LKSOM that has a consistent group of faculty and peers for learning activities throughout years 1-2.

W. Wayne Babcock College

Amy Goldberg, MD – College Director
Professor and Chair, Surgery
Chief, Trauma and Surgical Critical Care
Surgeon-in-Chief, Temple University Health System
Director, General Surgery Residency Program

Ralph Horwitz, MD, MACP - College Advisor
Professor, Medicine
Director, Temple Transformative Medicine Institute

W. Wayne Babcock, MD (1872 - 1963), surgical innovator, educator, and author, became Chair of Surgery at Temple in 1903 and taught here for 45 years. 

Dr. Babcock earned worldwide recognition for pioneering the usage of spinal anesthesia and stainless steel sutures, for developing and popularizing surgical procedures, and for inventing eponymous surgical instruments (e.g., Babcock forceps, Babcock drain).

Babcock's Principles and Practice of Surgery was the authoritative text in surgery through the 1950s and 60s.

Thomas M. Durant College

Stephen Permut, MD, JD – College Director
Professor and Chair, Family and Community Medicine
Board of Trustees, American Medical Association

Oneida Arosarena, MD, FACS – College Advisor
Associate Dean, Diversity and Inclusion
Associate Professor of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery

Thomas Durant, MD (1905 – 1977) joined the Temple faculty in 1936 and served as Chair of Medicine from 1956 to 1966. He made notable contributions in electrocardiography, contrast visualization, and the dynamics of circulation and respiration. Dr. Durant was considered a consummate diagnostician.

Dr. Durant held numerous high-level posts in his career. In addition to his service to Temple, Dr. Durant was chair of the American Board of Internal Medicine, president of the American Federation for Clinical Research, and president of the American College of Physicians.

Dawn B. Marks College

Anuradha Paranjape, MD, MPH – College Director
Vice Chair, Operations, Department of Medicine
Professor, Medicine

Adam Reese, MD – College Advisor
Associate Professor, Urology
Chief, Urologic Oncology

Beloved for her devotion to students and passion for teaching, Dawn B. Marks, PhD (1937 - 2000) joined the Department of Biochemistry at Temple in 1968 and served as Assistant Dean of Graduate Studies from 1984 to 1998. Dr. Marks developed innovative teaching techniques in biochemistry and molecular biology, always grounding concepts in practical applications in clinical medicine.  Dr. Marks was honored with numerous teaching awards during her career.

Dr. Marks’ signature professional achievement was publication of Review of Biochemistry (1990). The textbook was the gold standard in undergraduate and medical school classrooms, and remains the foundation for all contemporary biochemistry texts. Clinical adaptations of Dr. Marks’ texts are still published and edited by Temple faculty. 

Waldo Nelson College

Michael Delvecchio, MD – College Director
Associate Professor, Pediatrics
Chief of Pediatric Hospitalist Section

Lawrence Kaplan, MD – College Advisor
Associate Dean, Inter-Professional Education
Professor, Medicine

A true giant in the field of pediatrics, Waldo E. Nelson, MD (1898 - 1997) came to Temple in 1940 and chaired the Department of Pediatrics for 24 years.  He also served as Director of St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children in Philadelphia, bringing it to prominence as a regional referral center. 

Dr. Nelson gained worldwide fame as the editor of the Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, better known as the “Green Bible”. Now in its 19th edition, the text remains the definitive pediatric medicine reference and has been translated into dozens of languages.

William N. Parkinson College

Elizabeth Leilani Lee, MD – College Director
Assistant Professor, Clinical Medicine
Associate Program Director for Ambulatory Medicine, Internal Medicine Residency Program

Robert Bettiker, MD – College Advisor
Associate Professor of Medicine

William Parkinson, MD (1896 - 1971), a graduate of the School of Medicine's Class of 1911, served as Associate Dean at Temple from 1921 to 1924. He left to continue his studies, then returned in 1929 as Medical Director and Dean – a post he held for 30 years.

In the Temple tradition, Dr. Parkinson was known for making medical education accessible to talented students from all backgrounds and for recruiting faculty of national and international renown.

Dr. Parkinson was deeply involved in all aspects of the school's life. It was said that he seemed to run the Medical School single-handedly, managing both strategic decisions and minute operational details.

Charles Saunders College

David Leh, MD – College Director
Assistant Professor, Medicine
Internal Medicine Clerkship Director, St. Luke’s Campus

Florence Kimball, PhD – College Advisor
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs, St. Luke’s Campus

Charles D. Saunders, MD, has been a member of the St. Luke’s Hospital and Health Network since 1974. He has been an active and outstanding urologist at St. Luke’s for over 3 decades.

Dr. Saunders is a skillful and caring physician, known for his compassion. He is widely praised by his patients and deeply respected by his colleagues. Dr. Saunders exemplifies “Doctoring”.

Dr. Saunders has held many positions at St. Luke’s. He was Chief of Urology, Acting Chief of Surgery, Senior Vice President of Medical and Academic Affairs, President of the St. Luke’s Medical Staff, a member of the Board of Trustees at St. Luke’s Hospital and Health Network, and president Northampton County Medical Society. Dr. Saunders is currently Chair of the St. Luke’s Allentown Hospital Board of Trustees, and Vice Chair of the St. Luke’s Hospital and Health Network Board.

Sol Sherry College

Karen Lin, MD, MPH – College Director
Chief, Section of General Internal Medicine
Professor, Clinical Medicine

Stephanie Barbetta, MD – College Advisor
Assistant Dean, Student Affairs
Associate Professor, Emergency Medicine

A titan in the field of thrombosis, Sol Sherry, MD (1916 - 1993) served as Chair of Medicine at Temple from 1968 to 1984. He was Dean of the School of Medicine from 1984 to 1986, and founded the Thrombosis Research Center which now bears his name. 

Dr. Sherry revolutionized medicine through his pioneering work in thrombolytic therapy. He was personally responsible for developing streptokinase as the first “clot-busting” drug. Similar lytics are now widely used to treat stroke, myocardial infarction, and pulmonary embolism.

Dr. Sherry founded the Council on Thrombosis of the American Heart Association and the International Society of Thrombosis and Haemostasis.