In This Section

Sol Sherry Research Presentations by Fellows, Residents, Medical Students

The Fellows and Residents Research Forum was initiated over 35 years ago to provide the Fellows and the Residents in the Department of Medicine with an opportunity to present their research effort. The Forum is a reflection of the ongoing research activities in the Department, and a year-end summation of the projects carried out by the Fellows and Residents.

Sol Sherry (1916-1993)

Sol Sherry, MD, joined Temple University School of Medicine as professor and chairman of the Department of Medicine in 1968. In 1970, Dr. Sherry founded and served as director of the University's Specialized Center for Thrombosis Research, the largest of its kind in the United States, which was later named in his honor. He served as dean of the School of Medicine from 1984-86. He was a recipient of an honorary doctor of science degree, the University's first Distinguished Professor and was honored with the establishment of the Sol Sherry Chair in Medicine.

For his contributions to medical research, teaching and patient care, Dr. Sherry was the recipient of other numerous awards and honors. He was Master of the American College of Physicians and The John Phillips Memorial Medalist of the American College of Physicians; a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (London), and recipient of the Robert P. Grant Medal of the International Society on Thrombosis and Hemostasis--a society which he founded in 1977. Dr. Sherry also received awards from the American Heart Association, the Philadelphia County Medical Society, the Texas Heart Institute and the Swedish Society of Cardiology.

Programs from Prior Years