In This Section

Talent on Display: The Department Of Medicine's 2015 Research Forum

News June 11, 2015

Henry Parkman, MDResearch talent of the Department of Medicine’s young physicians was once again on display at the 2015 Annual Sol Sherry Fellows and Residents Research Symposium, held on June 10 in Temple University School of Medicine's (TUSM) Medical Education and Research Building (MERB).

The symposium featured 36 poster and 28 oral presentations covering an impressive variety of investigations across the subspecialties of cardiology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, general internal medicine, geriatrics, hematology/oncology, infectious diseases, nephrology, pulmonary, and rheumatology.

Presenters and faculty discussed findings and future directions of the studies as they exchanged insights and enjoyed stimulating discussions at the forum, which is named in honor of former TUSM Dean and Department of Medicine Chair Sol Sherry, MD (1916-1993). Oral and poster presentations were judged by Department of Medicine faculty, and the best received Sol Sherry Awards for Excellence in Research.

“For over 30 years this symposium has been an annual tradition, and the quality of this year's posters and presentations is as impressive as ever,” said A. Koneti Rao, MD, Sol Sherry Professor of Medicine; Professor, Sol Sherry Thrombosis Research Center and Pharmacology; Director, Benign Hematology, Hemostasis and Thrombosis; and Co-Director, Sol Sherry Thrombosis Research Center – who has been organizing the annual showcase almost since its inception.

“The variety of insights reflected by these presentations demonstrates the admirable research abilities of our residents and fellows,” added Joseph Y. Cheung, MD, PhD, Richard Laylord & Dorothy L. Evans Professor & Chair of Medicine, and Professor, Center of Translational Medicine. “These young physicians are valued colleagues among our clinical and research faculty,” he added.

Henry Parkman, MD, Professor of Medicine, Director of Temple's GI Motility Laboratory, and a faculty member at TUSM since 1990, was presented at this year's event with the 2015 Distinguished Scientist Award, for his major contributions in the areas of GI motility disorders, primarily gastroparesis. He delivered a lecture at the symposium summarizing his research into the diagnosis and treatment of chronic symptomatic stomach dysfunction, and he described several novel approaches including the use of wireless motility capsules, botox injections, and gastric electric stimulation therapy.

“I am grateful for the opportunities at Temple to develop a number of collaborations with colleagues in Gastroenterology, Nuclear Medicine, Surgery, Pathology, Physiology, and the School of Pharmacy,” said Parkman.  “Collaborative translational research enhances patient care and opens up new areas of research, which further expands the frontiers of knowledge,” he added.

Congratulations Winners!

Best Poster Presentations

Fellows: Giuseppe Guglielmello, DO: Effect of Current vs. Former Smoking on Rate of Acute Exacerbations in COPD

Residents: Yevgeniy Brailovsky, DO: Baseline and Serial Examination of the RVOT Doppler Flow Profile Predicts the Degree of Pulmonary Vascular Obstruction Pre and Post Thrombolysis in Acute Submassive PE.

Medical Students: Jason Heckert, BS: Gastric Neuromuscular Pathology and Therapeutic Outcome of Gastric Electric Stimulation in Patients with Refractory Gastroparesis

Best Oral Presentations

Fellows: 1st Place (Tie) – Jerry Jacob, MD: Factors Associated with Empirical Therapy of Clostridium difficile Infection

Fellows: 1st Place (Tie) – Mark Weir, MD: Multiple Relative Contraindications do not Predict Outcomes in Lung Transplantation

Residents: 1st Place (Tie) – Charles D. Nicolais, MD: Use of Warfarin for Atrial Fibrillation Related Stoke Prevention in an Urban Primary Care Clinic

Residents: 1st Place (Tie) – Estefania Oliveros, MD: Gastrointestinal Bleeding and Left Ventricular Assist Devices: Pre-operative Risk Factors and Outcome in a Minority Population

Judges & Chairs:

Riyaz Bashir, MD; Marissa Blum, MD; Michael Bromberg, MD, PhD; Roberto Caricchio, MD; Wissam Chatila, MD; David Essex, MD; Thomas Fekete, MD; Susan Fisher, MS, PhD; Crystal Gadegbeku, MD; Avrum Gillespie, MD; Oleh Haluszka, MD; Won Han, MD; Sharon Herring, MD; Larry Kaplan, MD; Steve Kelsen, MD; Nathanial Marchetti, DO (Chair); Anuradha Paranjape, MD; Henry Parkman, MD (Chair); A. Koneti Rao, MD (Chair); Ajay Rao, MD; Howard Rudnick, MD; Rafik Samuel, MD; Ron Schey, MD; and Kevin Williams, MD.