In This Section

Alumni Awards

The Henry P. and M. Page Laughlin Alumnus of the Year Award

Recognizing outstanding contributions to medicine

E. Ronald Salvitti, MD ’63

Dr. Salvitti, founder and medical director of the Southwestern Pennsylvania Eye Center is a renowned expert who lectures widely on topics such as cataract implants, radial keratotomy, phacoemulsification and refractive surgery. Over his influential career, Dr. Salvitti has been awarded the American Medical Association Physician’s Recognition Award and honorary doctorates of science from Seton Hill University and Washington and Jefferson College.

The Alumni Achievement Award

Recognizing alumni whose contributions to medicine have had a lasting impact

Lawrence Hoepp, MD ’73.

Dr. Hoepp has particularly deep experience with open and endovascular, arterial and venous surgery, as well as aortic aneurysm stent grafts. His thoracic experience includes non-cardiac thoracic surgery and minimally invasive video assisted thoracic surgery. In addition to many awards and recognitions, Dr. Hoepp has been recognized with a commendation from New Hampshire Governor John Lynch for his pioneering works in Vascular Surgery.

Richard Scott, MD ’68

Dr. Richard D. Scott has earned a worldwide reputation for his clinical expertise, teaching skills, research and numerous contributions to the art and science of arthroplasty of the knee. Dr. Scott has designed or co-designed a number of prosthetic knee and hip joints with over 5 million implanted worldwide. He has published more than 250 scholarly publications, and his book, Total Knee Arthroplasty has been translated into four languages and is now in its second edition.

The Alumni Service Award

Honoring outstanding alumni with exemplary records of service and generosity to the school

John M. Daly, MD ’73

An internationally recognized surgical oncologist, Dr. Daly is known for his expertise in the treatment of patients with hepatobiliary, pancreatic, colorectal and breast cancer.  Former Dean of the Lewis Katz School of Medicine and Emeritus Director of Temple’s Medical Alumni Association’s Board of Directors, Dr. Daly has been previously recognized with The Alumni Achievement Award and the Alumnus of the Year Award for his service and commitment to Temple.

The Honored Professor Award

For Katz School Faculty who exemplify the knowledge and values that Temple strives to instill

Alisa Peet, MD ’00

Dr. Alisa Peet is an associate professor of Clinical Medicine and an associate dean for Clinical Education at the Lewis Katz School of Medicine. Since receiving her medical degree from Temple in 2000, her dedication to patient care has been matched only by her dedication to her students and to the practice of medical education.  Dr. Peet has served in many capacities with the Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine (AAIM), and has been awarded the Russell and Pearl Moses Memorial Endowed Medical Award for excellence in clinical teaching.

The Emerging Leader Award

Honoring exemplary leadership and promise in medicine

Megan Heere, MD ’08

An associate professor at the Lewis Katz School of Medicine, an attending physician at Temple University Hospital and the Medical Director of our Well Baby Nursery, Dr. Heere passionately promotes infant health, with a clinical focus on infant sleep, sudden infant death syndrome and obesity. Under Dr. Heere’s leadership, Temple University Hospital launched the SAFE-T program, a program that educates families on safe infant sleep practices and the use of baby boxes to prevent sleep-related deaths, putting Temple University Hospital on the map as the first in the country to give every newborn a baby box.