In This Section

New Basic Science Chairs Announced

News March 25, 2021

Basic Science Chairs In December 2020, Temple University's Board of Trustees approved a reorganization of the Basic Science Departments at Lewis Katz School of Medicine (LKSOM). Following the restructuring announcement, search committees began the process of reviewing potential candidates for the Chair positions. The search and selection process recently concluded with Chairs' appointment for the restructured departments – all of which—become official on July 1, 2021.

Existing Departments

The Department of Medical Genetics and Molecular Biochemistry and the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine remain in place with their current chairs in the new structure.

  • Department of Medical Genetics and Molecular Biochemistry - Glenn S. Gerhard, MD, Professor; Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Joseph and Rebecca Goodfriend Endowed Chair in Genetics
  • Department of Pathology and Laboratory MedicineYuri Persidsky, MD, PhD, Professor; Pathologist-in-Chief, Temple University Health System

New Departments

The new departments and their new chairs are as follows:

  • Department of Biomedical Education & Data Science - Steven N. Popoff, PhD, John Franklin Huber Chair and Professor
  • Department of Cancer & Cellular Biology - Erica Golemis, PhD, Professor; Deputy Chief Science Officer; Co-Leader, Molecular Therapeutics; William Wikoff Smith Chair in Cancer Research, FCCC
  • Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Inflammation  - Kamel Khalili, PhD, Laura H. Carnell Professor; Director, Center for Neurovirology and the Comprehensive NeuroAIDS Center  
  • Department of Neural Sciences - Ellen Unterwald, PhD, Professor; Director, Center for Substance Abuse Research
  • Department of Cardiovascular Sciences - Walter J. Koch, PhD, Professor and William Wikoff Smith Endowed Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine; Director, Center for Translational Medicine
  • Department of Urban Health and Population ScienceKathleen Reeves, MD, Professor, Clinical Pediatrics; Senior Associate Dean, Health Equity, Diversity and Inclusion; Director, Center for Urban Bioethics

Over the next few months, the chairs will work with faculty, staff, and LKSOM leadership to develop mission, vision, and overall growth strategy for each of their departments.

"I believe these changes will strengthen LKSOM and better unify our clinical and basic science departments," said John M. Daly, MD, FACS, Dean, Lewis Katz School of Medicine. "This major restructuring – by far the most significant in our history -- provides a contemporary construct that will better support curricular evolution, mentoring, and faculty development. It will also enhance our research productivity and student education to optimize academic and clinical interdisciplinary collaboration."