In This Section


  • Top Doctors Badge 2021

    147 Temple Physicians Named “Top Doctors” by Philadelphia Magazine

    One hundred forty-seven Temple physicians have been named to Philadelphia magazine’s “Top Doctors” list for 2021. Physicians on the list were nominated by their professional peers and practice at Temple University Hospital-Main Campus, Fox Chase Cancer Center, Temple University Hospital-Jeanes Campus, Temple University Hospital-Episcopal Campus and in the community as part of Temple Physicians, Inc.

  • Dr. Schmalbach

    Schmalbach Named Editor-in-Chief Elect of Major Journal

    Cecelia E. Schmalbach, MD, MSc, FACS -- the David Myers, MD, Professor and Chair of the Department of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery at the Lewis Katz School of Medicine and Director of the Temple Head & Neck Institute -- has been named Editor-in-Chief-Elect of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, the official publication of the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Foundation (AAO-HNSF), a major journal in the field.

  • Dr. Goldberg

    Amy J. Goldberg Named Interim Dean at Temple’s Lewis Katz School of Medicine

    Renowned Temple trauma surgeon and gun violence prevention advocate Amy J. Goldberg, MD, FACS has been named interim dean of the Lewis Katz School of Medicine at Temple University by Temple President Richard M. Englert and Executive Vice President and Provost JoAnne Epps.

  • Student Diversity Council

    Student Diversity Council “Pushing Issues Forward”

    It’s one thing to have your concerns heard – it’s another to see your concerns addressed. The medical students who founded Lewis Katz School of Medicine’s Student Diversity Council focus on both.

  • PA White Coat

    A White Coat and Many Shades of Meaning for the Physician Assistant Class of 2022

    Thanks to the pandemic, last fall’s plans for a traditional, in-person White Coat Ceremony Physician Assistant Program Class of 2022 had to be scrapped. For safety’s sake, a ‘hybrid’ ceremony was held instead, with students and program leaders attending in person (practicing social distancing) and family and friends watching and listening online. The event was a big hit – thoroughly appreciated by students and their families.

  • Dr. Katz

    Dr. Paul M. Katz Appointed Chair of Neurology and Chief of Service at Temple

    Paul M. Katz, MD, FCPP has been appointed Chair of the Department of Neurology at the Lewis Katz School of Medicine at Temple University and Chief of Service at Temple University Health System.

  • Thrive Leadership Team

    A Lasting Legacy: Student-Founded ”Temple Thrive Clinic” Flourishes

    Temple medical students Jani Swiatek, Erin Jennings, and Joe Corcoran wanted to launch a medical clinic at a local North Philadelphia shelter, which sits about a mile from the LKSOM campus on West Lehigh Avenue. In November 2018, the Thrive clinic made its debut at the Lehigh Avenue shelter. It was a hit from day 1.

  • Giangiacomo & Popoff

    Distinguished Teaching Awards for Drs. Giangiacomo and Popoff

    The Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation Awards for Distinguished Teaching, established in 1961, are among the most coveted university teaching awards in the greater Delaware Valley. And on April 1, two Lewis Katz School of Medicine (LKSOM) faculty were each presented with one: Steven N. Popoff, PhD, the John Huber Professor and Chair of the Department of Anatomy & Cell Biology, and Kathleen Giangiacomo, PhD, Associate Professor of Medical Genetics and Molecular Biochemistry.