In This Section

OHEDI Announces Winners of the Health Equity Leadership & Social Justice Award

News October 29, 2021

The Office of Diversity, Inclusion and Health Equity (OHEDI) announces the inaugural winners of the Lewis Katz School of Medicine Health Equity Leadership & Social Justice Awards — a recognition program established to honor faculty, staff, trainees, and students across the Lewis Katz School of Medicine and Temple University Health System doing excellent work for people and groups underrepresented in medicine and/or disenfranchised in society.  

As the program is designed to dovetail with the celebration of national heritage months, the inaugural group of awardees are individuals who have gone above and beyond to contribute to Hispanic/Latinx people in our communities:

Milagros Acevedo
Senior Administrative Specialist, Temple University Hospital

Frank Cedeno
Lewis Katz School of Medicine Student, Class of 2023 (Bethlehem Campus)

Natalia Ortiz-Torrent, MD, FAPA, FAPM, FPCP
Professor, Clinical Psychiatry and Behavioral Science, Lewis Katz School of Medicine
Medical Director, Consultation and Liaison Psychiatry, Temple University Hospital

Ana Cristina Pichardo, BSN, RN, CMI-Spanish
Clinical Nurse, Temple University Hospital
Certified Medical Interpreter, Temple University Hospital

Beatriz Zayas-Godoy, MD
Internal Medicine Resident, PGY2

“These wonderful, dedicated individuals represent Temple proudly. We are so pleased for the opportunity to celebrate the gifts that these exemplary faculty, trainees, and staff make daily to the communities that we serve,” said Abiona Berkeley, MD, JD, FASA, Interim Senior Associate Dean of OHEDI.

For more information about the awards program, contact