In This Section

Joseph Cheung, MD, PhD, Appointed Chair of the Department of Medicine at Temple University School of Medicine

News December 16, 2013

Joseph Y. Cheung, MD, PhD, has been appointed Chair of the Department of Medicine at Temple University School of Medicine (TUSM), effective November 7, 2013. Dr. Cheung is also Professor of Medicine at TUSM. Prior to this appointment, he had served as Senior Associate Dean for Research at TUSM since April 2012.

“As the Chair of the Department of Medicine, Joe brings to the job significant leadership experience combined with institutional knowledge that will serve him well in continuing to shape the strategic growth of the department,” said Larry R. Kaiser, MD, FACS, Dean, Temple University School of Medicine; President & CEO, Temple University Health System; and Senior Executive Vice President for Health Sciences, Temple University.

In addition to shaping the strategic growth in the Department of Medicine, Dr. Cheung will also continue his current clinical work in Temple University Hospital’s Nephrology Division, and will maintain the research progress being made in his NIH-funded basic-science laboratory.

Dr. Cheung earned his PhD from Pennsylvania State University in 1976, and his MD from Duke University in 1978. He completed a residency in Internal Medicine at Duke, and a Nephrology fellowship at Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Cheung remained on the faculty at Massachusetts General Hospital before returning to Penn State Hershey in 1986 where he became Chief of the Division of Nephrology in 1993. In 2006, Dr. Cheung was named Chief of Nephrology at Jefferson Medical College. He joined the Temple faculty in February of 2012.

Dr. Cheung has received various awards for his teaching, research and clinical efforts. His research interests include analyzing the link between calcium and heart failure, and studying the processes that involve phospholemman, a cardiac stress protein.

He has published numerous peer-reviewed articles, abstracts and book chapters, and is a member of many professional societies, including the International Society of Nephrology, American Physiological Society, American Society of Nephrology, Biophysical Society, American Society for Clinical Investigation, American Heart Association and the American College of Physicians.