In This Section

Honoring Lewis Katz School of Medicine's Top Teachers – In All Their Forms

News November 03, 2020

LKSOM Awards“It’s said that, as an individual, you can usually help one person at a time. But as an educator, you help individuals who continue to advance knowledge that improves the health of enormous numbers of people.”

With those words, John Daly, MD, FACS, Interim Dean and Dean Emeritus of the Lewis Katz School of Medicine (LKSOM), underscored the value of the contributions of the 12 LKSOM faculty members honored at the 3rd annual Educational Excellence Awards program, the most in the program’s brief history.

“In previous years, we honored faculty primarily for their excellence in teaching across the medical school. However, it was impossible to capture the breadth of contributions the faculty make to education,” Dr. Daly said.

Accordingly, awards were added to also recognize faculty for their excellence in research mentorship, educational service, educational scholarship, and outreach within the North Philadelphia community.

The nearly 50 nominations for this year’s awards came from faculty members, students, residents, fellows, program directors, and the North Philadelphia community at-large. The awards presentation was pre-recorded and streamed on the morning of October 29 on the LKSOM Facebook page and the Temple Health YouTube channel. Later that day, Dr. Daly hosted a small, private reception for the award winners.

Recipients of the 12 Educational Excellence Awards were:

Educational Excellence in the MD Program, Year 1

Abraham Roth Chair, Preventative Medicine
Professor, Clinical Medicine
Director, Acupuncture Program

Rebecca Sullivan, PhD
Educational Excellence in the MD Program, Year 2

Associate Professor, Physiology

Sam Stern, MD
Educational Excellence in the MD Program, Year 3

Assistant Professor, Clinical Medicine

Zoe Maher, MD
Educational Excellence in the Graduate Medical Education Program

Assistant Professor, Surgery

Erin Narewski, DO, FCCP
Educational Excellence in the Graduate Medical Education Program

Assistant Professor, Clinical Thoracic Medicine and Surgery
Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program
Unit Based Medical Director, 6 East, Temple University Hospital

Michael Autieri, PhD
Educational Excellence in the Biomedical Sciences

Director, Lemole Center for Integrated Lymphatics and Vascular Research
Associate Director and Professor, Cardiovascular Research Center
Professor, Physiology
Professor, Sol Sherry Thrombosis Research Center
Professor, Center for Metabolic Disease Research

Nicole Griffin, PhD
Educational Excellence in PA/POSTBAC/UBTH

Associate Professor, Anatomy and Cell Biology

Walter Koch, PhD
Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program Mentoring Award

William Wikoff Smith Endowed Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine
Professor and Chair, Pharmacology
Professor and Director, Center for Translational Medicine

Kathleen M. Giangiacomo, PhD
Educational Service Award

Associate Professor, Medical Genetics and Molecular Biochemistry

Jill Allenbaugh, MD
Educational Scholarship Award for Excellence in Medical Education Research

Assistant Professor, Medicine

Deborah L. Crabbe, MD, FACC, FAHA
Excellence in Community Outreach Within North Philadelphia

Professor, Medicine

Megan Healy, MD
Excellence in Community Outreach Within North Philadelphia

Associate Professor, Clinical Emergency Medicine
Assistant Program Director, Emergency Medicine Residency