In This Section

Celebrating the Lewis Katz School of Medicine 2021 Alumni Award Honorees

News June 24, 2021

Alumni Award Honorees

An oncologist known for ground-breaking research into treatments for pediatric leukemia, a veteran infectious disease specialist currently on the front lines of the CDC’s global response to COVID-19, and a beloved faculty member and classroom icon who has been honored more than a dozen times for excellence in teaching are among the seven exemplary leaders honored with the 2021 Alumni Awards from Temple University’s Lewis Katz School of Medicine.

Because of the pandemic, the awardees were recognized during a series of virtual Class Reunions that were held this spring. The annual Alumni Awards have long been a highlight of the Signature Reunion Celebration held during Reunion Weekend, but the traditional celebration was unable to be held in person this year for safety reasons.

“These honorees exemplify the pursuit of excellence that is the hallmark of Temple Made physicians and faculty members,” said Fredric B. Squires MD ’91, president of the Medical Alumni Association, which sponsors the awards. “Their outstanding achievements have made us all proud.”

In a letter sent March 17 to the honorees, John M. Daly MD ’73, the Dean of the Medical School, said their accomplishments and service had brought honor to the medical school and the university. He lauded each of them “as a leader among your colleagues, peers and fellow alumni” and said he looked forward to recognizing them. Sadly, Dr. Daly, a renown surgeon and transformative leader at Temple, passed away on March 26.

Lawrence Kaplan MD ’86, who chaired the awards committee, said the panel considered a number of extraordinary nominees before forwarding its recommendations to Dr. Daly for his consideration. Dr. Kaplan stated, “When we looked at the portfolios of our award candidates, the committee was amazed of the breadth and depth of what our LKSOM colleagues have achieved. The foundation that the school plays in instilling the key values of exceptional patient-centered care, self-directed learning and growth and a passion for service, has led these physicians to the pinnacle in medicine."

Here is a complete list of the 2021 Alumni awardees:

The Henry P. and M. Page Laughlin Alumna of the Year Award

Recognizing outstanding contributions to medicine

Beverly J. Lange, MD ’71 is a renown pediatric oncologist and translational clinician educator whose lifetime work has led to outstanding contributions to the treatment of children with leukemia.


The Alumni Achievement Award

Recognizing alumni whose contributions to medicine have had a lasting impact

Barbara Marston, MD ’86 is the Deputy Director for Science and Program in the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Division of Parasitic Diseases and Malaria. An infectious disease specialist, she has been instrumental in the CDC’s response to a wide range of global public health outbreaks, including HIV/AIDS, Ebola and now COVID-19.


The Alumni Service Award

Honoring outstanding alumni with exemplary records of service and generosity to the school

Robyn R. Jones, MD ’81 is the Senior Medical Director, Women’s Health, in the Office of Chief Medical Officer at Johnson & Johnson. An obstetrician/gynecologist and physician researcher, she has been an effective advocate for increased awareness of women’s health issues and for eliminating health inequities and disparities, especially in African American women.

Steven J. Peitzman, MD ’71 is a Professor of Medicine at the Drexel University College of Medicine, semi-retired, and a nationally recognized historian of medicine. He is the author of two books and numerous articles on topics that include the history of nephrology, women in medicine, the medical history of Philadelphia and medical education. He also has published peer-reviewed journal articles on the teaching and assessment of clinical skills.


The Emerging Leader Award

Honoring exemplary leadership and promise in medicine

Edward J. Schenck, MD ’06 is a medical intensivist at New York-Presbyterian Hospital/ Weill Cornell Medicine who investigates the intersection between translational science and data science to help diagnose and predict the severity of disease. His research is aimed at understanding the role of regulated cell death in sepsis and non-infectious critical illness.

Ericka L. Powell, MD ‘01 is the Emergency Medicine Medical Director at WellSpan Good Samaritan Hospital in Lebanon, Pa., overseeing the Emergency Department’s operations and quality of clinical care. She also serves as Vice President of the medical staff.


The Honored Professor Award

For faculty who exemplify the knowledge and values that Temple strives to instill

Gerald H. Sterling, PhD is the Senior Associate Dean for Accreditation and Continuous Quality Improvement and a Professor of Pharmacology. A member of Temple’s Lewis Katz School of Medicine faculty for more than three decades, Dr. Sterling has received more than a dozen awards for excellence in teaching.